The Ela Murray International School Early Learning Centre offers a play-based, educational program in accordance with the IEA Early Childhood Curriculum.

Our Early Childhood Curriculum covers the period from 2 years to school entry and recognises that there are often wide variations in the rate and timing of children’s growth and development and in their capacity to learn new things in new places.

We believe that children’s learning is not divided up into sections. One experience will provide opportunities to develop a number of skills, concepts and competencies across several areas of learning. However, the following six areas have been set as a designated early childhood curriculum,

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • develops emotional well-being, respect for others, social competence and a positive disposition to learn

Communication, Language and Literacy

  • includes communication, speaking and listening in different situations and for different purposes
  • exposure to a wide variety of literature
  • develops the foundations for early reading and writing skills

Mathematical Development

  • counting, sorting, matching, seeking patterns, making connections, recognising relationships
  • working with numbers, shapes, space and measures

Knowledge and Understanding of our World

  • includes the development of crucial knowledge, skills and understanding that help them make sense of our world

Creative Development

  • includes music, art, dance, role play and imaginative play
  • allows children to extend their understanding by making connections between one area of learning and another

Physical Development

  • improving skills of coordination, control, manipulation and movement
  • children gain confidence in what they can do
  • enables them to feel the positive benefits of being healthy and active

Comments are closed.